HiSPARC is geographically divided into regional clusters. Detection stations in a cluster are grouped around one or more scientific institutions. If the distances between locations within a large cluster are too big, the cluster is divided into sub-clusters.

The scientific institutions provide the necessary technical, educational and administrative support. Each participating school signs a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU), a letter of intent in which the local high school and the academic institution establish mutual agreements about the purchase, installation and maintenance of a detector.

At national level, the coordination of HiSPARC is in the hands of Ms. Surya Bonam. She manages the website, handles the communication within the project and organizes various events such as the annual HiSPARC Symposium. Interested parties can contact her for details about the project.

The Netherlands



Every detector station in every cluster in the Netherlands are shown on this map. Each cluster has one or more coordinators. They are responsible for building and managing all detection stations in their cluster.

  1. Amsterdam
  2. Utrecht
  3. Nijmegen
  4. Leiden
  5. Groningen
  6. Enschede
  7. Eindhoven

United Kingdom



These are the detector stations in the United Kingdom. Some of the clusters only have test stations. Bristol is the main cluster which i sbeing expanded and has many participating high schools. This cluster also has multiple cluster coördinators. They facilitate the construction and maintenance of all detector stations in the cluster.

  1. Sheffield
  2. Cambridge
  3. Durham
  4. Bristol



These are the stations in Denmark. Currently this consists of three stations on the University of Aarhus.

  1. Aarhus